Attire

I’ve been reading a lot of fitness blogs that have recently dealt with the topics of gym attire. January does bring out a lot of new or irregular exercisers at the gym (New Year’s Resolutions, anyone?), and you do see a lot of weird stuff.  I try my hardest not to be judgy re: what people wear to the gym – primarily due to the fact that I’m super paranoid that I’m being silently judged for any/all of the following:

  • what I’m wearing
  • my excessive sweating
  • my weight
  • my heavy breathing
  • my lack of grace
  • etc.

However. When someone comes to a step class in Birkenstocks, it’s pretty hard not to react. Not only does it look strange, but it must be SO uncomfortable!  The same goes for jeans while on the spinning bikes and hotpants and a pushup bra/spaghetti strap tank top combo on the treadmill.  The girl wearing the latter (complete with hair-extentions and tramp stamp) must have been wearing it to look good, but good lord – watching someone run while not “supported” adequately just looks painful!

I have a few criteria for my own gym attire:

  1. Good shoes. I get blisters really easily, and for some reason, if a shoe has too much cushioning, my feet tend to get pins and needles and fall asleep.  Weird.  I also have somewhat weak ankles, so I make sure that I have shoes that give me proper support.   Also, since doing a bike race last year, I can’t go to spinning without actual clip-in spinning shoes. I feel like I get so much more out of the workout in my bike shoes – and I don’t care if it’s psychological.
  2. No shorts. I DESPISE shorts. As in LOATHE. I have thunder thighs. That’s ok – my thighs have always been big, even when I was way skinnier.  I don’t really mind. However, I look awful in shorts.  And sorry for the TMI, but shorts = chafing. Gross. Plusalso. MEGAunflattering. And I feel stupid enough at the gym already, I don’t need ugly shorts to make me feel worse about myself. 
  3. Follow-up to the shorts.  I refuse to work out in sweats.  They’re too warm, loose, get stuck in stuff, the list goes on. I’m on the tight gym-pants/capris/leggings bandwagon.  Tight, because I feel they give support and enable better freedom of movement, but the number one criteria is asscrack prevention. Sorry. This post is getting explicit. But there’s nothing I more annoying that to constantly have to pull up my pants because I’m scared of plumber’s butt. 
  4. A good sports bra is a must. As I mentioned earlier, watching someone jump around “unsupported” is painful. So is jumping around unsupported.

Favorites: Along with, you know, the rest of the world, I adore Lululemon. I was introduced to them when I started university in Canada back in 2002, and it was love at first sight.  They have the most flattering, comfortable gym wear EVER, and I wish my bank balance could afford more of their stuff.

Some favorites:

I LOVE this top. I had one in red eons ago, but I wore it so much that it eventually looked more pink than red.  Furthermore, it got too small.

See, that’s me on the right wearing it (in Chiang Mai, Thailand).  I also happen to be wearing Lululemon Groove Crop. Another fave – that eventually got so worn out that the inner seam tore.

My current favorite is the Groove pant (see below).  I had no idea gym clothes could be this flattering. Seriously. It’s like they transform you! Big fan.

Do you have a favorite brand of gym clothes?

2 Responses to Attire

  1. Marianne says:

    Um, duuuhhh… I mean that’s me on the LEFT.

  2. Michelle says:

    About this:

    # No shorts. I DESPISE shorts. As in LOATHE. I have thunder thighs. That’s ok – my thighs have always been big, even when I was way skinnier. I don’t really mind. However, I look awful in shorts. And sorry for the TMI, but shorts = chafing. Gross. Plusalso. MEGAunflattering. And I feel stupid enough at the gym already, I don’t need ugly shorts to make me feel worse about myself.

    I COMPLETELY AGREE. With everything. I never wear shorts and have never felt comfortable in them! UGH. I don’t care how freaking hot it gets in Italy– give me a skirt and I’ll be a LOT happier.

Leave a Reply

